CINEMA

Molly's Game

POSTED BY: SHINYGOODGUY
UPDATED: Sunday, January 14, 2018 23:14
SHORT URL:
VIEWED: 1564
PAGE 1 of 1

Sunday, January 14, 2018 11:14 PM

SHINYGOODGUY


Molly's Game refers to a poker game ran by a upscale Poker Madam named Molly Bloom, a real-life person that had some bad luck early on in her Olympic dream of a career and turned to the life of "underground" or private gambling. Based on the book of the same name.

These were not your seedy games of chance, but rather an upscale "Big Spenders" gamblers made up of entertainment types, ball players and, eventually, mob-connected wise guys. Based on the life of the real Molly Bloom, the Poker Princess.

Starring Jessica Chastain as Molly Bloom, with Kevin Costner playing her dad, who, in the movie, is her skiing coach. She narrates and speaks plainly as she describes how, and why, she became the Poker Princess. The movie was fast-paced and entertaining and held my interest long enough for me to make sense of it. Later I found out that one of the gamblers was baseball slugger Alex Rodriguez. And that Ben Affleck and Tobey Maguire frequented her poker game in real life. She describes more than just the poker aspect, but how she had to deal with the Russian and Italian mob. It was kind of a thriller as well. A good solid movie.


SGG

NOTIFY: Y   |  REPLY  |  REPLY WITH QUOTE  |  TOP  |  HOME  

YOUR OPTIONS

NEW POSTS TODAY

USERPOST DATE

OTHER TOPICS

DISCUSSIONS
Alita: Battle Angel
Tue, February 19, 2019 19:45 - 22 posts
Discussion of Alita: Battle Angel
Tue, February 19, 2019 08:23 - 9 posts
And a movie!
Sun, February 17, 2019 20:42 - 3 posts
Films of Mistaken Self Awareness
Fri, February 15, 2019 20:34 - 13 posts
Cold Pursuit
Fri, February 15, 2019 09:39 - 2 posts
What Are Your Must-See Films For 2019?
Wed, February 13, 2019 03:06 - 32 posts
Top Gun: Maverick
Sat, February 9, 2019 07:28 - 11 posts
VICE
Wed, February 6, 2019 20:37 - 74 posts
Glass
Wed, January 30, 2019 23:35 - 4 posts
DeadPool 2 - Shoutout to Firefly
Tue, January 29, 2019 16:41 - 44 posts
Spiderman: Into the Verse
Fri, January 11, 2019 06:41 - 1 posts
Aquaman
Thu, January 10, 2019 18:46 - 4 posts

FFF.NET SOCIAL