OTHER SCIENCE FICTION SERIES

Moon Machines

POSTED BY: CLJOHNSTON108
UPDATED: Wednesday, February 16, 2011 03:43
SHORT URL: http://goo.gl/LB0hQ
VIEWED: 1185
PAGE 1 of 1

Wednesday, February 16, 2011 3:43 AM

CLJOHNSTON108


This astonishing 6-part documentary series from 2008 is being re-run on the Science Channel, and it's just mind-blowing!
All the nitty-gritty technical detail they'd never put in a mainstream space docu!

From Part 3: The Navigation Computer



I'd never heard of anything like Rope Memory: You don't wanna get distracted putting that stuff together! Not a lot of chit-chat amongst the assembly line, I'd wager.

Amazing what passed for computers back in ancient times.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apollo_Guidance_Computer
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Core_rope_memory

________________________

"Spry for a dead fella!"

NOTIFY: Y   |  REPLY  |  REPLY WITH QUOTE  |  TOP  |  HOME  

YOUR OPTIONS

NEW POSTS TODAY

USERPOST DATE

OTHER TOPICS

DISCUSSIONS
Orphan Black on BBC-America
Fri, September 21, 2018 23:38 - 18 posts
Buck Rogers In The 25th Century
Thu, September 13, 2018 01:17 - 5 posts
Anyone else watching "The Last Ship" on TNT?
Fri, September 7, 2018 15:39 - 109 posts
"The Orville" new SciFi on FOX
Sat, September 1, 2018 01:56 - 53 posts
something else
Mon, July 30, 2018 00:24 - 10 posts
Ready Player One
Thu, July 26, 2018 06:03 - 9 posts
The Crossing
Sat, June 9, 2018 20:07 - 8 posts
Reverie
Thu, May 31, 2018 05:38 - 3 posts
Infinity Wars doesn't matter, Thanos does
Mon, May 14, 2018 16:05 - 22 posts
Smallville, Superman tv show actress arrested by the FBI on charges of sex trafficking, sex trafficking conspiracy and forced labor conspiracy
Sun, April 29, 2018 21:55 - 3 posts
Are There New TV Shows This Fall You Must See?
Thu, April 19, 2018 14:59 - 18 posts
Humans on AMC
Fri, March 16, 2018 05:15 - 8 posts

FFF.NET SOCIAL