TALK STORY

NASA Notices Largest Sunspot in Decades

POSTED BY: AURAPTOR
UPDATED: Monday, October 27, 2014 17:31
SHORT URL:
VIEWED: 1234
PAGE 1 of 1

Monday, October 27, 2014 5:31 PM

AURAPTOR

America loves a winner!


http://www.natureworldnews.com/articles/9831/20141024/nasa-notices-lar
gest-sunspot-decades.htm


Just last weekend, NASA's Solar Dynamic Observatory (SDO) caught sight of a gigantic dark blemish marring the surface of the Sun. This blemish, called a "sun spot," is the largest seen in this current solar cycle, covering a surface area that could swallow 10 Earth's whole.

The new sunspot in question is nearly 80,0000 miles across, according to NASA. Massive sunspots like these are so large that they can be noticed by the naked eye, and were even regularly recorded by ancient Chinese astronomers by 28 BC.

NOTIFY: Y   |  REPLY  |  REPLY WITH QUOTE  |  TOP  |  HOME  

YOUR OPTIONS

NEW POSTS TODAY

USERPOST DATE

OTHER TOPICS

DISCUSSIONS
Purgatory and its mathematical relation to the event horizon
Sun, January 28, 2018 16:28 - 22 posts
Ghosts exist, yes or no? On the fence?
Tue, January 23, 2018 17:41 - 77 posts
Roman Polanski
Thu, January 11, 2018 07:30 - 6 posts
Young actors with promise...
Thu, January 4, 2018 14:45 - 26 posts
What Song Are You Listening To, California Dreamin'
Tue, January 2, 2018 18:12 - 141 posts
Disney Buys Fox.
Mon, December 18, 2017 23:12 - 10 posts
Real or Legend, What's Your Favorite Cryptid?
Sun, November 26, 2017 23:19 - 96 posts
Who's the best actor from the Whedon 'verse ?
Fri, October 6, 2017 12:15 - 12 posts
XV Anniversary of Firefly
Sat, September 30, 2017 20:42 - 19 posts
The Biggest Clich├ęs in Movies/TV
Mon, September 11, 2017 23:24 - 13 posts
What Is Your Fantasy Guest Line-up?
Mon, September 11, 2017 22:36 - 4 posts
What's your favorit line from a sci fi movie or tv show?
Sat, September 9, 2017 01:48 - 82 posts

FFF.NET SOCIAL