TALK STORY

NASA Notices Largest Sunspot in Decades

POSTED BY: AURAPTOR
UPDATED: Monday, October 27, 2014 17:31
SHORT URL:
VIEWED: 1089
PAGE 1 of 1

Monday, October 27, 2014 5:31 PM

AURAPTOR

America loves a winner!


http://www.natureworldnews.com/articles/9831/20141024/nasa-notices-lar
gest-sunspot-decades.htm


Just last weekend, NASA's Solar Dynamic Observatory (SDO) caught sight of a gigantic dark blemish marring the surface of the Sun. This blemish, called a "sun spot," is the largest seen in this current solar cycle, covering a surface area that could swallow 10 Earth's whole.

The new sunspot in question is nearly 80,0000 miles across, according to NASA. Massive sunspots like these are so large that they can be noticed by the naked eye, and were even regularly recorded by ancient Chinese astronomers by 28 BC.

NOTIFY: Y   |  REPLY  |  REPLY WITH QUOTE  |  TOP  |  HOME  

YOUR OPTIONS

NEW POSTS TODAY

USERPOST DATE

OTHER TOPICS

DISCUSSIONS
Real or Legend, What's Your Favorite Cryptid?
Sun, May 21, 2017 15:38 - 90 posts
XV Anniversary of Firefly
Tue, May 2, 2017 15:25 - 6 posts
Intelligent life - out there.
Mon, May 1, 2017 22:36 - 4 posts
What's your favorit line from a sci fi movie or tv show?
Tue, March 14, 2017 19:36 - 80 posts
Ghosts exist, yes or no? On the fence?
Sat, March 4, 2017 23:14 - 50 posts
Greatest Car Chase on film
Sat, March 4, 2017 21:41 - 26 posts
Is love just an evolutionary goof on us to get us to procreate?
Sat, March 4, 2017 19:28 - 18 posts
George Takei on Facebook - Who else is following ?
Thu, March 2, 2017 18:36 - 22 posts
The Good Fight
Thu, February 23, 2017 18:17 - 1 posts
Firefly Reboot Rumors
Sun, February 19, 2017 15:22 - 1 posts
A card game adaptation of the RPG that inspired Traveller!
Fri, December 9, 2016 19:11 - 1 posts
Taking a break
Sat, December 3, 2016 16:15 - 4 posts

FFF.NET SOCIAL